oil pressure spring?

-

rustytoolss

Reaction score
How much increase in oil pressure would I get by installing the mopar Hi pressure oil pump spring.
I'm new to small blocks (have put washers behind the spring on BB) before. So how do you replace the spring (sounds stupid..but have never done this on a small block)
right now I'm running about 10psi at 800rpm. hot 10w30

The book indicates around 10 psi increase for the big blocks. Doesn't say on the small block. I would guess about the same though. I'm thinking the small block spring and plug is held in by a pin.

I don't believe the pump bypasses hot 10/30wt oil at 800 rpm. Have you already installed a high volume pump?

The spring is behind a plug which is held in by a pin. see it in this pic on the bottom? 10 at 800 is fine.
$(KGrHqN,!rcFIWZ,RgM3BSJwcUmF!Q~~_32.JPG

Here's a picture of the spring kit:

View attachment MP HP spring kit A02 B.jpg

Here's another picture of the spring kit:

View attachment MP HP spring kit A03 B.jpg

Here's the picture of the cotter pin and cup plug that you have to remove to change the spring. I don't like drilling the cup plug to remove it, as the chips can get in the pressure relief valve and cause it to fail. I use a punch and a sharp blow with a hammer to punch a hole in it and then remove it with a screw and washer.

View attachment Oil Pump A01 B2.jpg

Here's a picture of the cup plug without the cotter pin installed. Notice it is backwards from how the ones in the blocks typically go. Just pull out the original spring, and install the high pressure spring from the kit. Then install the new cup plug and cotter pin, and you're ready to go.

View attachment Oil Pump B.jpg

Here's a picture of how the cup plug goes.

View attachment Oil Pump A03 B.jpg

Yopu probalby know this but just keep and ey on the pressure at high RPM's after you do this. Too much pressure can pump excess oil to the heads and leave the sump dry.

Too much oil pressure can explode a oil filter too.