Over the Counter Zinc Additive

-

mopowers

Reaction score
Do you folks know of a good over the counter ZDDP oil additive that is likely to be on the shelf at a local auto parts store?

Last edited:
Valveoline ZR1 is high zinc.

I use Valvoline VR1 10W30 (silver bottle) conventional oil in my 318 (also comes in 10W40) that already has the correct amt. of zinc and phosphorus in it. It's great stuff and I have been using it for many years with no problems. I would stick with oil formulated at the factory rather than adding stuff in... just my .02 318MG

lucas zppd zinc additive should be easy to find at any parts store! lucas also sales muscle car oil with high zinc zddp in it already as well

If you just have to have an additive, Lucas is among the best. O'Reilly carries it. Unlike a lot of "zinc" additives, Lucas actually HAS zinc and phosphorous in it.

Thanks for the input guys. I'm aware of plenty of good oils with zinc in it. Unfortunately, my dad is set in his ways and already has a bunch of cheap oil he insists on using. I don't blame him. That's why I asked for a locally purchase-able additive he can obtain at his parts house. Looks like the Rislone and the Lucas additive is available at autozone and Oreilly. I'll pass along the info. Thanks again.

If your dad chooses the Lucas additive, it looks like 1/4 of a bottle (4 oz) is quite adequate to raise the ZDDP levels to the 1200-1400 ppm range or thereabouts, which is the ZDDP concentration range where most motor oils used be. Too much ZDDP has been documented to cause its own set of issues; the whole Lucas bottle will raise it to around 5000 ppm per the Lucas documents, and that is way too high.