Should I go Big block or Small block?

What motor should I build for my duster?

Votes: 37 6.3%

Votes: 183 31.2%

Votes: 228 38.9%

Votes: 138 23.5%

• Total voters
-

1973DartSport

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I've decided to build a new motor for my duster. This will be my first complete engine overhaul. I'm a mechanic by trade, just haven't done a complete overhaul yet. I have lots of motors in my garage to chose from as a starting point. I've got 318's, 340's, 360's, and 440's. What should I build any why? I want some opinions. Thanks!

Image00001.jpg

318 will leave you wanting more.
340 are getting harder to find so you may want to hold on that one.
360 no cons.
440 is it really necessary?

440's are cool for bigger cars, but for an A-body, it will put way to much weight in the front. I would build a 360 because they are cheap and all over. You can also stroke them to over 400 cubes.

I'm a big block fan,but unless you have a BB trans and are willing to pop for the BB t-bars, the Schumacher kit (including exhaust), going with the mandatory 8 3/4" rear end, driveline etc. IMHO You'd be better off with a 360.

Stroke a 360 and have the HP of a big block!The 340,s are also a good choice if you have a couple.Was the car stock with a 340?

360 if you are starting from scratch. Awesome engines.

But I would go 340 if you have one or can score one for cheap (I was told that is impossible though:roll:)

360 if you are starting from scratch. Awesome engines.

But I would go 340 if you have one or can score one for cheap (I was told that is impossible though:roll:)
Im gonna say a 440. I wanted to build a 440 for my 69 Dart but a few friends said it would be a hassle and that I would have more fun with a 340. Now my 340 is a blast to drive but I always come back to MY original plan and wish I had done it "my way" The other scenario would be to build a small block stroker!!

go big or go home. 440 all the way