Today’s ethanol gas in carburetors

-

greymouser7

Vagrant Vagabond “Veni Vidi Vici”
Reaction score
How detrimental with today’s ethanol gasoline be to a Thermo quad or Edelbrock carburetor if you had to drive several one thousand mile trips totaling four to 10,000 miles?

How long would it be before you would need a rebuild or have detrimental problems with the carburetors functioning ?

They sell those little blue bottles of ethanol catalyst that supposed to neutralize and diminish any problems -Is that a worthy the solution?

From my experience, ethanol becomes a problem when your not running the vehicle.

As long as everything is submerged, your ok. It’s when a hose that’s ran ethanol sits dry for a while is when it reeks havoc on things.

I’m by no means an expert, but I have ran a Holley for 8 years on ethanol rich pump gas. In the winter, I add stabil, and circulate the pump a couple times a month.

I will also add that I switched my fuel line over to PTFE when I started running pump gas.

But the carburetor has shown no I’ll effects in 7 years.

I hope this helps. Eric

All I know if ethanol makes black mold like stuff grow on your paint. It looks like mildew.

For what is worth....our generator sat for 7 years with the gas it had in it...2 pulls & it was running..log splitter..sat for a year, one half hearted pull and it was running....have never bought into that whole ethanol terror.

I will say this though. It will seriously destroy foam in a fuel cell and plug your filter.