Demon "Classic Air" AC Install

By 6pk2goDemon, Jul 21, 2012 | |
  1. 70dustah

    70dustah Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Location:
    MA
    Local Time:
    6:23 PM
    I found the same exact insulation in the heating and ac section of lowes , and lined my roof with it when replacing headliner 2 years ago.
     
  2. rtee007

    rtee007 Deplorable Texan

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    125
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Location:
    Baytown, Texas
    Local Time:
    5:23 PM
    I will use the Classic Air kit, but will let my local shop install it as it is hot as hell here to in the summer and I don't have the patients to sweat and install it (plus they will warranty they install and parts). And I have leftover tax money :)
    Not a daily driver here either, but I do like to enjoy my ride, sweating my a$$ of and ending up drenched in sweat after a few minutes........Texas weather is as bad as yours........with humidity!


     
  3. hotrod3forty

    hotrod3forty Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    Top 'o' Texas
    Local Time:
    5:23 PM
    I yanked mine out after the compressor quit. I only ran it maybe 3 or 4 times then the compressor took a dump.....one month after the warranty expired. I just want to get rid of it all now. Everything is almost brand new but I just decided against replacing the compressor.
     
  4. Adam@Pachyderm

    Adam@Pachyderm Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Location:
    orlando
    Local Time:
    6:23 PM
    Well done.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • dartnabout

      dartnabout FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      12,602
      Likes Received:
      5039
      Joined:
      Aug 27, 2007
      Location:
      Central PA
      Local Time:
      6:23 PM
      cool!
       
    • Slappy

      Slappy FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      2,217
      Likes Received:
      50
      Joined:
      Sep 18, 2008
      Location:
      Tampa Fla.
      Local Time:
      6:23 PM
      Classic air unit? Pm me if you want to sell it
       
    • hotrod3forty

      hotrod3forty Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      206
      Likes Received:
      2
      Joined:
      May 17, 2011
      Location:
      Top 'o' Texas
      Local Time:
      5:23 PM
      It was a Nostalgic Air unit. I had it shipped to me from right there in Florida. It worked good but it sure didn't last long. Thanks so much for the interest however I sold it last summer.
       
    • mr68gts

      mr68gts Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      99
      Likes Received:
      7
      Joined:
      Feb 20, 2011
      Location:
      Arizona
      Local Time:
      4:23 PM
      Has anyone used one of these units with the factory ac venting?
       
    • scatpackbee

      scatpackbee Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      672
      Likes Received:
      418
      Joined:
      Feb 10, 2007
      Location:
      Georgetown, Ontario
      Local Time:
      6:23 PM
      I am wondering the same thing, if you can install the hoses onto the factory A/C 3 louver box if the rear of box is modified.

      That's what I want to do, as well as maintaining the passenger's side fresh air vent too.

      6pk2godemon, is there enough room beside the Classic Air heater box fan to install a cut/modified passenger side fresh air vent on that side?
       
    • scatpackbee

      scatpackbee Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      672
      Likes Received:
      418
      Joined:
      Feb 10, 2007
      Location:
      Georgetown, Ontario
      Local Time:
      6:23 PM
      I just answered my own question.

      Yes, it can be done.

      I just installed the Classic Auto Air kit in my Dart and adapted it to an A-body factory underdash vent box, and it looks awesome. Much better than the supplied plastic vents.
       
    • 6pk2goDemon

      6pk2goDemon Mopar Mod Staff Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      11,291
      Likes Received:
      2625
      Joined:
      Mar 1, 2008
      Location:
      Arizona
      Local Time:
      4:23 PM
      Sorry I missed your question @scatpackbee Oops...

      Congrats on your mods to adapt the Classic Air unit. How about sharing some pics for all to see. I'm sure you can help others with the same questions....:D
       
    • cudajareav

      cudajareav Active Member

      Messages:
      39
      Likes Received:
      3
      Joined:
      Jun 11, 2013
      Location:
      Boise, ID
      Local Time:
      4:23 PM

      Did you ever get one for your barracuda and Install it? I need one for my 67 too. 90+ degree days with kiddos is not a fun day for a car show.
       
    • mullinax95

      mullinax95 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      11,537
      Likes Received:
      399
      Joined:
      Oct 25, 2006
      Location:
      Anderson, SC
      Local Time:
      6:23 PM
      No I never did. I invested money in the engine guess you can say. It would be nice however to have A/C.
      Looking at the instructions .... to me it gets really involved. I'd rather work on the engine... lol

      EDIT: I remember now... I have a aftermarket EZ-Wire fuse panel in my dash. I would not be able to install the A/C without relocating the fuse panel. Thats not going to happen.. lol
       
      Last edited: Jul 22, 2019
    • cudajareav

      cudajareav Active Member

      Messages:
      39
      Likes Received:
      3
      Joined:
      Jun 11, 2013
      Location:
      Boise, ID
      Local Time:
      4:23 PM
      I used that in my barracuda, with extra strength 3M Spray adhesive.. it doesn't really stay up very well, but I still don't have the headliner done on my car so that might help in the future.
       
    • cudajareav

      cudajareav Active Member

      Messages:
      39
      Likes Received:
      3
      Joined:
      Jun 11, 2013
      Location:
      Boise, ID
      Local Time:
      4:23 PM
      good to know where is your fuse box currently? We just re-did the wiring on my car with an EZ wire kit and New gauges from Classic Dash (Very Pleased with the end result and look.)
      I have looked at vintage Air, but they don't have anything for the 67 Barracuda and would have to get a'universal kit' so was pleased to come across this thread. but maybe this won't be as straight forward as i had hoped. But that is the nature of owning a classic car :)
       
    • mullinax95

      mullinax95 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      11,537
      Likes Received:
      399
      Joined:
      Oct 25, 2006
      Location:
      Anderson, SC
      Local Time:
      6:23 PM
      DSC01981.jpg
       
    • mullinax95

      mullinax95 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      11,537
      Likes Received:
      399
      Joined:
      Oct 25, 2006
      Location:
      Anderson, SC
      Local Time:
      6:23 PM
      I might could squeeze the A/C behind the fuse panel and not have to relocate. Don't know for sure however.
       
    • cudajareav

      cudajareav Active Member

      Messages:
      39
      Likes Received:
      3
      Joined:
      Jun 11, 2013
      Location:
      Boise, ID
      Local Time:
      4:23 PM
      Thanks, Nice and neat! Mine is still in original spot in front of drivers side door so might not run into same issue.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
        By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.