Thermo quad float bowl adjustment

Fuel and Air Systems

  1. Tad

    Tad FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Location:
    Temecula
    Local Time:
    8:07 PM
    Hey guys, I looked for some other threads related to this but couldn’t find anything. I rebuilt my thermal quad recently. All new gaskets, o rings, everything! Got it back on the car and ran OK but noticed the gaskets between each piece wet and some fuel overflowing. I did not adjust the float bowl levels. I’m thinking this is why I’m having the excess fuel. Can someone post some basic directions on how to do this?
     
  2. RustyRatRod

    RustyRatRod Weenie idiot loser. FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    58,567
    Likes Received:
    29020
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    Local Time:
    11:07 PM
    Did you replace the floats? There was a huge batch of brass floats that hit the market that were soldered on the stems upside down. There's a "notch" in the float and that's supposed to end up facing down into the carburetor when assembled, which means the notch would face UP when being assembled with the top upside down. If that made sense.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Tad

      Tad FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      230
      Likes Received:
      108
      Joined:
      Jun 19, 2018
      Location:
      Temecula
      Local Time:
      8:07 PM
      I believe mine are the black floats if I remember correctly. It’s an early 70s thermo quad
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Tad

        Tad FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        230
        Likes Received:
        108
        Joined:
        Jun 19, 2018
        Location:
        Temecula
        Local Time:
        8:07 PM
        I believe mine are the black floats if I remember correctly. It’s an early 70s thermo quad
        I did not replace the floats
         
      • toolmanmike

        toolmanmike FABO Staff Staff Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        46,937
        Likes Received:
        31227
        Joined:
        Jan 18, 2006
        Location:
        Iowa
        Local Time:
        10:07 PM
        Hate to be a downer here but you didn't "overhaul" your carb. You should have checked the floats and adjusted them correctly according to the instructions in the kit. It's all part of doing the job right. I suggest you take it back apart and do it right. If you need another kit, so be it. lesson learned.
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • Tad

          Tad FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          230
          Likes Received:
          108
          Joined:
          Jun 19, 2018
          Location:
          Temecula
          Local Time:
          8:07 PM
          I know. I don’t mind taking it apart again to make it right. You are right, Lesson learned
           
          • Like Like x 1
          • 66fs

            66fs Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            4,380
            Likes Received:
            1193
            Joined:
            Sep 9, 2009
            Location:
            Greenwood, South Carolina
            Local Time:
            11:07 PM
            I always replace the black plastic floats with brass ones. I have seen and used the ones RRR is talking about. Just adjust the hight, for whatever you use, per the instructions provided. The plastic ones can eventually soak up gas changing characteristics. The early TQ used brass floats and later changed to black plastic.
             
            • Like Like x 1
            • Agree Agree x 1
            • Tad

              Tad FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              230
              Likes Received:
              108
              Joined:
              Jun 19, 2018
              Location:
              Temecula
              Local Time:
              8:07 PM
              So I have the carburetor taken apart again. I mean completely taken apart! I’m wanting to really deep clean it this time. I’ve read that boiling either lemon water or vinegar with the parts is a good way to clean them. Any other suggestions?
               
            • toolmanmike

              toolmanmike FABO Staff Staff Member FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              46,937
              Likes Received:
              31227
              Joined:
              Jan 18, 2006
              Location:
              Iowa
              Local Time:
              10:07 PM
              I have never used lemon or vinegar but it should work. I like to run a tag wire through all the passages to make sure they are clean.

              tag wire.jpg
               
              • Agree Agree x 1
              • Tad

                Tad FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                Messages:
                230
                Likes Received:
                108
                Joined:
                Jun 19, 2018
                Location:
                Temecula
                Local Time:
                8:07 PM
                B280C1C1-F8E8-4CA9-AFCA-B53FE197AD01.png
                 
              • 66fs

                66fs Well-Known Member

                Messages:
                4,380
                Likes Received:
                1193
                Joined:
                Sep 9, 2009
                Location:
                Greenwood, South Carolina
                Local Time:
                11:07 PM
                Those are good.
                 
              • Tad

                Tad FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                Messages:
                230
                Likes Received:
                108
                Joined:
                Jun 19, 2018
                Location:
                Temecula
                Local Time:
                8:07 PM
                Thank you. The carb is specifically a 9126S. I wasn’t sure if there were specific floats for this or if that would work.
                 
              • 66fs

                66fs Well-Known Member

                Messages:
                4,380
                Likes Received:
                1193
                Joined:
                Sep 9, 2009
                Location:
                Greenwood, South Carolina
                Local Time:
                11:07 PM
                The TQ floats work for all TQ's as far as I know. They are measured differently if I remember correctly, but the measurement should be in your kit or with your floats.
                 
              • pishta

                pishta I know I'm right....

                Messages:
                16,518
                Likes Received:
                6201
                Joined:
                Oct 13, 2004
                Location:
                Tustin, CA
                Local Time:
                8:07 PM
                tqfloatadjustment.jpg D-D84INzCU6b0Pm7yPOLhO8Y-bnFGgKXb1lY-CzctEL7C5ftd0vbzUzN1w8iY1k2wWABLcR6how2rGGT35IW8OoPnkB_tOpf.jpg
                images?q=tbn%3AANd9GcQYC89N2Y4UF3CKhjYjDvIrD4G-qMY0isdAzUv7ivx1UDwzT3US.jpg
                 
              • Tad

                Tad FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                Messages:
                230
                Likes Received:
                108
                Joined:
                Jun 19, 2018
                Location:
                Temecula
                Local Time:
                8:07 PM
              • pishta

                pishta I know I'm right....

                Messages:
                16,518
                Likes Received:
                6201
                Joined:
                Oct 13, 2004
                Location:
                Tustin, CA
                Local Time:
                8:07 PM
                naa, just "TQ float spec" on a search.
                 
                • Like Like x 1
                • Tad

                  Tad FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  230
                  Likes Received:
                  108
                  Joined:
                  Jun 19, 2018
                  Location:
                  Temecula
                  Local Time:
                  8:07 PM
                  just got everything back together again. I checked the float measurement which is supposed to be at 23 mm from the base of the gasket to the bottom of the float. Mine was at 32 mm. Way out of spec. I believe these are actually new floats and I never set them. Lesson learned.
                   
                  • Like Like x 1
                  1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.