1973 Duster "Running Resto."

-

blackbomber

Raging Member
Reaction score
I'm relatively new to FABO. For those who care to look, my intro thread: http://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar/showthread.php?t=96644

I'm taking a bit of liberty by calling this a “resto” but running restoration just sounds right. What this is in actuality is a budget refurbishing to produce a reliable, decent looking daily driver that I can take to cruise nights and be proud of. To help keep costs down, and also to be able to say “I did it,” I'll be doing everything myself. Literally – I have even mounted my own tires.

Here is my starting point. It is an original one-owner SoCal car with absoloutely no perferation anywhere. Obviously it is weathered, and the paint on the horizontal surfaces has burned away, resulting in surface rust. But looking past the ugly skin, it's a really good candidate.

P1000311.jpg

P1000312.jpg

P1000315.jpg

P1000319.jpg

P1000313.jpg

P1000320.jpg

Cool, good looking save, have fun with it and we love PICS!!!!! the more the better lol great find and save have fun with it.

Against good advice, I wanted to drive this car as-is through at least part of the summer. They are only original once. Obviously I need to erradicate the rust, and get some protection on there ASAP, but I wanted to "show it off" as is for at least a few cruises. Therefore, my first order of business was to make the most of what I had. So with ample Strata 800 compound, a buffing wheel, and metal polish, I set out to make it shine the best I could. First pic is "in progress" to show the dramatic change from burnt crusty green to factory F8. The results were worth the effort:

P1000326.jpg

P1000330.jpg

P1000331.jpg

P1000332.jpg

P1000334.jpg

P1000336.jpg

I'd take the acrs paint right down to netal where ever I could and lay down some weather resistant primer, not rattle can primer. And then go from there.

Thanks BKD, love your F8 Dart.