bogging 318

-

VolksDuster

Back Yard Guy
Reaction score
Hi There,:D Im new to the fourm under this name and it has been a long time since I have been on here. But I have a Twister again and will for good now, I think.

This is a 1973 Plymouth Duster/Twister with a 318 and Automatic trans, I have an issue where the car will start and idle fine but under load (in any gear) the car boggs and dies as soon as I hit the pedal. At this point I thought it would be either dirty carb or bad vacume advance, so I cleaned the carb and replaced the vacume advance. No Change in symptome

At this point I decided to replace the carb and distributer as well as Coil, cap, wires, fuel filter and breather, Also I decided to replace the chain and gears because the was a little slack.

And this is where I am now... All parts replaced and adjusted, and the car is still to be doing the same thing, I`ve tried advancing timming, retarding the timming, adjusting the accelerator pump, adjusting the idle mixture. Also checked for vacume leaks (none) and nothing seems to change the bog.

So I`m hoping some can tell me something so I can drive the car for a while before the snow gets here.

Thank you very much

Sounds like you've hit all the basics. If timing & idle mixture (make sure to adjust under load) are optimum & you're sure there are no Vac leaks, you may need to go up a fuel shooter size.

what is the initial & total timing?
How much vac are you pulling?
what carb & what size shooter?

Your saying your timing is fine but what is it? Sounds like you might need about 16-18 initial 34-35 total and have it all in around 2200. Timing can do alot.

Your saying your timing is fine but what is it? Sounds like you might need about 16-18 initial 34-35 total and have it all in around 2200. Timing can do alot.

Yes...^^^^^^^^

Is this a completely stock car? Or are there mods, carb, intake, exhaust, etc.

Thanks for the fast feedback,