When do you need subframe connectors

-

michformulaS

Reaction score
I have been driving my 68 Formula S with its 416 for a couple years now. Built and fully ported by Lapouttre racing at that time following a 10 second build he did earlier that year. It has a 3.23 open 8 3/4 so I haven't been too concerned with the torque this thing makes. The right rear just goes up in smoke (even at 55). I am thinking of putting a sure grip, locker or such in it and some 3.91's. A torque strap is a must as I think I am already ready to tear this out but at what point will I be risking things if I don't have sub frame connectors? I am sure I need some trans mods as well. Please let me know what you think.

Thanks

connectors will help with any car. even a 6 cyl car. these cars are lose as hell. you would be surprised how much they will stiffen up a car..

A bodyman friend of mine who once did a lot of frame work told me that "Mopars move around worse than any other car."

connectors will help with any car. even a 6 cyl car. these cars are lose as hell. you would be surprised how much they will stiffen up a car..

Yup, I just installed some this past winter, the difference is night and day. With your build once you get that thing hookin up you will want them.

If I may hi jack:toothy7: I have always thought of this mod as well.So who would like to give some how toossss to do this,like should the car be on very level ground and on jack stands ? pics would be an asset as well.thanks.

i think they should be installed on any mopar you buy for any use...

it can help door latches/ strikers and hinges....

but its really easy...

just close all the doors, put jack stands under the front and rear sub frames (out of the way of the location of the bars)

then fit and weld them in...

just flare one end out so it will fit around the torsion bar cross member and 45* cut the other to meet up with the angle of the rear sub frame...

dont have a rear pic right now

Attachments

• 101_4396.JPG